Lee Hi debuts with a catchy number “1.2.3.4”


Well if youre a follower of the entertainment show ‘Kpop Star’ you might know Lee Hi or Lee Ha Yi as she was known! Lee Ha Yi was the runner up for the highly competive singing show. Well YG Entertainment had signed on this young girl of 16 and she has currently released her debut single 1.2.3.4

Am a bit late in reviewing this video blame my exams and errant power cuts here but I would love to talk about this young lady! It is rare to see someone so young to debut as a solo artist *well there are some solo artists like IU*. I would have thought that Lee Hi would be a member of girl group. But looking at her performance I kinda get the feeling that she is a solo player. And she is something different from what normal K pop scenario has. Lee Hi may look like she is trying the age old concept of someone pure and innocent. But from her look in the MV and her song I think Lee Hi is as badass as other YG artists like Bigbang, 2NE1, Epik High and more.

This is the video for the song ‘1.2.3.4’

Credit:  

LYRICS:

Hey.
C’mon now.
I said 1, 2, 3…

Your delusion that I’m still yours ends here.
I’m not that same girl you knew before.
At the sound of morning, the flowers have already bloomed so much.
But why are you still so out of focus?

I’m sick and tired of your hypocrisy.
You lame liar. (Ooh) Will you just back off now?
I think I’m going, going crazy (ooh).
I think I’m going, going crazy (ooh).

Don’t act so miserably and pitifully.
Go disappear far, far away. No, no. Na-na-na-na-na-na.
Don’t cry so pathetically. Just forget everything forever. No, no.

Listen.
Stop worrying about others and just mind your own business.
I don’t need your sympathy or pity. Uh.

I said 1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Time will be the one resolving everything.
1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Game over. Game over (ooh). Game over.

No matter where you go, no matter how hard you rub your eyes,
another girl like me is so hard to find.
All the boys cry and go like babies at my sexiness and purity.

I’m sick and tired of your hypocrisy.
You lame liar. (Ooh) Will you just back off now?
I think I’m going, going crazy (ooh).
I think I’m going, going crazy (ooh).

Don’t act so miserably and pitifully.
Go disappear far, far away. No, no. Na-na-na-na-na-na.
Don’t cry so pathetically. Just forget everything forever. No, no.

Listen.
Stop worrying about others and just mind your own business.
I don’t need your sympathy or pity. Uh.

I said 1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Time will be the one resolving everything.
1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Game over. Game over (ooh). Game over.

It hurts so much. I guess I’ve already forgotten you.
Hey baby. Just leave.

I said 1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Time will be the one resolving everything.
1 and 2 and 3, 4 (ooh).
Game over. Game over (ooh)
Game over.

1 and 2 and 3, 4
1 and 2 and 3, 4
1 and 2 and 3, 4

Game over
Game over
Game over

Lyrics translation: Kpoplyrics

Why did I describe Lee Hi as badass?? Well basically because of her lyrics..

Seems she is not gonna sing about teddybears and ice creams! She is more about calling out the guy for his hypocrisy! It shows that she is quite strong and doesnt need another especially a man’s support!

I am sure that most of the audience will have a preformed opinion about Lee Hi as they saw her frequently in their TV but she wants them to throw away those preconceived notions.

This song is basically a song sung by a girl after she breaks up with a sorry loser! She was taken up by him before but now she realised how much of a hypocrite that guy was and thus finally gets over him. She deems their relationship as ‘Game over’

I feel the song was very strong and she delivered it in a forceful manner too..She did get hurt but she is trying her best to come back strong after the messy break up.

No matter where you go, no matter how hard you rub your eyes,
another girl like me is so hard to find.
All the boys cry and go like babies at my sexiness and purity.

This line is awesome! It just screams self-confidence. She informs the dude that he just lost something precious and she also says that Lee Hi not only has a pure side but she can be sexy as well.

I approve of how the lyrics seems to give a strong impression.

SONG/VIDEO:

As much as I loved the song I was not that much impressed with the video. Lee Hi tried to give off a cold vibe to suit the mood of the song but I felt that it ended up making her seem stoic and frozen. I would have preferred if she had shown some good old ‘flipping hair’ or ‘I am judging you bitch’ expressions!

Seeing as she was very young I felt that the whole sexy concept did not come off clean. I think as Lee Hi grows up she will become more expressive and fluent. I doubt that she lacks both the relationship experience and the entertainment industry experience at the moment

But I was heartened to see how different she looked from normal girl idols who are tall and skinny *most of the time or rather all of the time lol*. Lee Hi is not a normal girl group member. She may seem like a baby now but am sure she will grow into a sexy star. Her dance moves need some improvement too.

With regards to the vocals! SUPERB! She sure has the vocals to secure top spots and she proved it by winning the past two weeks music shows! She carried the Oooohs and aaahhs well and her english pronunciation was perfect! I liked the gameover part loads! If she works on her facial expression a little her vocals will be even more powerful.

Regards to the fashion I wasn’t impressed ! Sorry Lee Hi! I dont think I like that curly mop in place of hair look she had. And the clothes seemed a bit too flamboyant to me. I did like the black dress she had in the middle. But the others A HUGE NO!

Over all I would say 1.2.3.4 is a good song and a nice venture for a debut but Lee Hi needs to work more in order to be considered someone who is different among Kpop girl artists!

Leave a Reply

